Has no one wondered where all those boys are? I mean, really! Who doesn’t like talking to a guy who reads? In our 5th conversation we talk to an Engineer! Aroop Sanyal, the stage is yours…

Why So Happy...
Why So Happy…

Reader Bio: Aroop is a Mechanical engineer by day and procrastinator by night. (Mugshot attached). He has a ear for good music and is extremely passionate about football. Aroop can pass days on the end discussing football tactics and progressive metal bands. He has a proclivity for car research. If you need suggestions for that new car, give him a buzz! Aroop has an uncanny ability of sitting and phasing off when nothing worth notice is happening around. When he’s not reading, in his head there’s always of constant medley of characters who are forced into a timeline of a different story, and this is why he generally procrastinates. Aroop says, “That way I churn out stories for myself to enjoy. I’m also a little too self critical for my own liking.” Although he is an ardent reader since his 10th standard, he curses himself everyday of missing out on so much of reading time.

Aroop, name a negative character from a book you absolutely loved, and one that you absolutely hated.
For the former question I would go for Veronica Ford from The Sense of an Ending. She is portrayed perfectly as the girl we all would love to hate. But she had an appeal to her, and like Jules Barnes mentions, “mysticism”. Complex characters are always interesting.

For a character I disliked, I’d choose Cujo, the rabid dog in Stephen King’s novel of the same name. A dog as big as a pony is not meant to go bad! That’s scary as hell.

If your life could play out as a book, which book would that be, and why?
Eragon! Ride dragons, fight shades and be a saviour of your generation! What’s better? Date a Hot Elf, also, with a dragon! Honestly I really liked the whole of Alagaesia and the journey Christopher Paolini generously wove for us readers. The concept of a dragon being able to communicate with their rider without dialog is so worth day dreaming about.

If you could be best friends with a character from a book, what character would that be and why?
Holden Caulfield. Given, it would be a pretty hard thing to do. But I’ve always had the knack of being friends with people who don’t really prefer to blend in. Introverts always have always the best stories to tell. Also, it would be a heck of an experience to be around so whimsical and irrational. At some point I’m pretty sure I would stop and ask him, “What the hell goes on in that head of yours?”

What are you currently reading?
Sophie’s World. In fact, I’ve just picked it up. Comes highly recommended.

Which, according to you, is:

Best book you’ve read this year:
The Wind Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami. With Mr. Murakami, you just cannot predict what comes next! And his storylines are so surreal.
Worst book you’ve read this year:
Read this book Black Echo by Michael Connelly. It Stank.
Book that you resolved to read this year, but did not:
Foucault’s Pendulum by Umberto Eco. Read up on the actual working of the Foucault’s pendulum to make up for it.
Most overrated writer:
Robin Sharma. I’ve actually tried two of his books. 10 pages and 7 pages is my progress till date, if I remember correctly.
Most underrated writer:
Read this book called The Quest of the Sparrows by Kartik Sharma. He has picked up the intricate topic of spirituality and put in such a manner where one will begin to question his own understanding of it or rather the lack of it. Of all the Indian Authors in the foray, I’m surprised I don’t see him anywhere.
Best book-movie adaptation:
The Shining. Jack Nicholson + Stephen King. *folds hands in respect*
Worst book-movie adaptation:
Eragon! 😦

Dystopian novels are great insights into the murkiness of everyday possibilities. Name an instance from a dystopian novel that you think is apt in the factual sense today.
I’m not sure if Catch 22 counts as a dystopian but that definitely fit in as apt. It’s such that our decisions and beliefs are barely in our hands in today’s date but in the hands of the inherent bureaucracy. The satirical tone of the novel adds to the fact the situation is such that all that’s left is to laugh at your own misery and wait for your turn to face the bullet. Such was the satire, that the protagonist considered the Dead Man in his tent a pest and merely developed a perfunctory desire to have him removed.

Which is a book that you’d love to re-read at any given time and why?
I’m not really a re-reader. But if there was one, I like to read parts of Love in the Time of Cholera. The speed of that book is excruciatingly slow, but it has bits and pieces you can go on reading over and over. It can change opinions of people who see love novels as tacky and dull.

What, in your opinion, is the definition of a good book?
Like I mentioned, I come into the dreamer category. I day dream, I afternoon dream and I night dream. Then I repeat. So an overdose of fantasy and mysticism works for me. However, the more the fantasy involved the harder it is to keep the dream together. It is equally important to knit together a story with extreme care and precision. So a book needs to be well paced, lucid and with a good mix of words. It has to force me to use my dictionary every now and then.

Give one word/phrase for:

  • The Merchant of Venice: My first of Shakespeare
  • Genius: Nikola Tesla
  • Morning Jogs: Mornings! Jogs! I need to sleep an hour extra now.
  • Robert Downey Jr. or Benedict Cumberbatch: Robert Cumberbatch! Yes!
  • Emma: Stone is pretty! (Read as one line.)
  • Donating Books: A ‘novel’ deed
  • Carpe Diem: Robin Williams from Dead Poets Society
  • Personal Library: Bucket List
  • Bookhad: A bunch of guys with a plethora of things to discuss with books in the foreground and the rest in the back.

A quote that you would like to part with…
“I want to keep my dreams, even bad ones, because without them, I might have nothing all night long.” – Joseph Heller

***

Aroop signs off, “There is this thing I’m always telling myself, the most intimidating and at the same time heartening fact is that, there is so much of good stuff to read in the millions of libraries in the world, that I will never be done reading;  Alas and Amen!”

You can follow Aroop on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/invictusaroop

***

Do let us know in the comments what you think, and watch this space for some more interviews.

***

Previous Interviews:

