"I love reading so much, that I even read restaurant menus from end to end."
“I love reading so much, that I even read restaurant menus from end to end.”

On a roll, aren’t we? On our 4th interview, we bring to you an insightful and compulsive reader who also happens to be a Consultant. She’s every bit the model girl and what draws you to her, apart from her feminine charm, is her ocean of knowledge on classical and contemporary literature. Over to her…

Reader Bio: Anuja Tendulkar is a true Capricorn. She is a self-confessed and visible bibliophile; always carrying a book around. One of her oft-repeated stories of being glued to a book is reading Harry Potter oblivious to a fire in the building. She is a lover of shoes and handbags. She is also moody, indecisive, dreamy, and emotional. You can talk to Anuja about good food to good books and sun signs all in the same conversation.

Anuja, describe why you read.
It’s actually more of a compulsion than a habit. I taught myself to read, and read my first book at the age of five (Five go off to Camp – Enid Blyton) and even today however tired I am, I cannot sleep until I read a page or two. It’s a part of who I am as a person. I believe that ‘There is no friend as loyal as a book.’

Is there a character you keep quoting or think of? Which character and which line?
Jane Austen…actually; I adore her more than any of her characters. I find her a keen observer of human nature. I love this quote ‘A large income is the best recipe for happiness I ever heard of’ from Mansfield Park.

Has it ever happened that you felt driven to talk to an author after reading his/her book? If yes, describe it to us.
Yes, Ruskin Bond, one of my all time favorite authors. Recently, I had the honor of meeting him at a literary festival and had my copy of ‘The Room on the Roof’ autographed. I shall treasure the memory forever. 🙂

What are you currently reading?
The Lollipop Shoes by Joanna Harris

Which, according to you, is:

Best book you’ve read this year:
Just one? Possibly ‘Life after Life’ by Kate Atkinson.
Worst book you’ve read this year:
‘The Immortals of Meluha’ It is the worst book I have ever read.
Book that you resolved to read this year, but did not:
‘Behind the Scenes at the Museum’ by Kate Atkinson; fingers crossed that I shall hopefully read it soon.
Most overrated writer:
The guy who wrote The Immortals of Meluha
Most underrated writer:
Most of the regional writers in India such as Irawati Karve.
Best book-movie adaptation:
‘Masoom’ adapted from ‘Man Woman and Child’. For a change, I loved the movie interpretation better than the book.
Worst book-movie adaptation:
I saw The Hobbit this year and fell asleep. It’s a total commercialization of one of my all time favorite books. 😦

What would you want your tombstone to read?
LIBROCUBICULARIST

If you realized that you were a character in an unfinished book, what would you do?
Write my own happy ending. 🙂

Did you ever like a character name so much that you wished it were yours?
Absolutely…Aurora aka Sleeping Beauty; it was my favorite fairy tale when growing up.

Give one word/phrase for:

  • Reading Resolutions: I don’t believe in them, read when and whatever you feel like.
  • Drama or Fantasy?: Fantasy
  • Borrow or Lend?: Vicious cycle
  • Interview: Insightful
  • Enid Blyton: Is the reason I started reading
  • Censorship: Should be banned!
  • Calvin and Hobbes: Quirky
  • Bookhad: An interesting read.

A quote that you would like to part with…
“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.” – Northanger Abbey, Jane Austen

***

Do let us know in the comments what you think. If you would like to be featured here, drop us a mail at bookhadblog@gmail.com with a line on why we should feature you.

***

Previous Interviews:

